Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Pailin's Kitchen

Stir-fried chicken with cashews

From the video “BETTER THAN TAKEOUT - Cashew Chicken!” by Pailin's Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Pailin's Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 8 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (2: 400 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$3.35*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$17.65* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
16

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain tree nuts, gluten, shellfish, soy, fish, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$10.05*for the batch in the video
~$3.35*per serving

You save about ~$17.65* per serving (84% less*) than ordering it out — ~$52.95* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

9 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: golden mountain sauce, thai chili paste, bell pepper, roasted cashews, dried chilies

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving253 kcal · 13% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat8.9 g11%
Saturated fat2 g10%
Sodium943 mg41%
Carbohydrate14 g5%
Fiber2.8 g10%
Total sugars6.6 gno daily value
Added sugars2.1 g4%
Protein29 g58%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+16 of 20
  • Saturated fat−8 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−3 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 12 of 15 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (2: 400 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: roasted cashews, dried chilies, oil. Not matched to nutrient data: Golden Mountain Sauce. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • wok
  • baking sheet
  • oven
  • mixing bowls
  • spatula

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact yield/servings
  • Total preparation and cooking time
  • Exact quantity of cooking oil

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Pailin's Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.