Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Thai & Southeast Asian · Pailin's Kitchen

Thai fish cakes

From the video “Thai Fish Cakes Recipe (Tod Mun Pla) ทอดมันปลา - Hot Thai Kitchen!” by Pailin's Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Pailin's Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumWeekend project
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (2: 350 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$4.01*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$22.99* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
18

Ingredients

  • Pescatarian

May contain peanuts, egg, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$8.03*for the batch in the video
~$4.01*per serving

You save about ~$22.99* per serving (85% less*) than ordering it out — ~$45.97* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario seafood entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 10 predicted from typical costs · not priced: spur chili, cane vinegar, red curry paste, long beans, thai basil, kaffir lime leaves

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 4 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario seafood entrée at ~$27, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving416 kcal · 21% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat18 g22%
Saturated fat2.2 g11%
Sodium580 mg25%
Carbohydrate43 g16%
Fiber1.6 g6%
Total sugars38 gno daily value
Added sugars35 g71%
Protein24 g49%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−5 of 20
  • Sodium−12 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−20 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 10 of 16 ingredient lines (68% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (2: 350 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Typical amounts assumed for oil, cucumber, shallots, roasted peanuts, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: Thai chili. Not matched to nutrient data: spur chili, cane vinegar, red curry paste, long beans, Thai basil, kaffir lime leaves. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • blender
  • pot
  • food processor
  • bowl
  • wok
  • spoon
  • tongs
  • spatula
  • plate

What the video didn’t say

  • servings not stated
  • total minutes not stated
  • exact oil amount not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Pailin's Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.