Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · SAM THE COOKING GUY

Chili dog

From the video “THE BEST CHILI DOG I’VE EVER MADE | SAM THE COOKING GUY 4K” by SAM THE COOKING GUY. RecipesMD is not affiliated with SAM THE COOKING GUY. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 9 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: 603 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 3 agrees
Cost
~$5.58*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$12.42* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
18

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy, egg, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$16.73*for the batch in the video
~$5.58*per serving

You save about ~$12.42* per serving (69% less*) than ordering it out — ~$37.27* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 9 predicted from typical costs · not priced: onion powder, tomato sauce, chipotle peppers, worcestershire sauce, beer, hot dogs…

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 5 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving436 kcal · 22% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat31 g40%
Saturated fat9.9 g50%
Sodium667 mg29%
Carbohydrate8.4 g3%
Fiber1.7 g6%
Total sugars4.6 gno daily value
Added sugars1.6 g3%
Protein29 g59%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−13 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 12 of 15 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: 603 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 3 agrees). Typical amounts assumed for ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, oil, mayonnaise, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: kosher salt, red onion, cheese. Not matched to nutrient data: onion powder, hot dogs, brioche buns. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cast-iron skillet
  • wooden spatula
  • slotted spoon
  • flat top grill
  • chef's knife
  • culinary torch

What the video didn’t say

  • servings count not stated
  • total cooking time not precisely stated
  • exact heat levels for skillet and flat top not specified

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are SAM THE COOKING GUY’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.