Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

South Asian · Your Food Lab

Butter chicken

From the video “Butter Chicken Recipe | How to make Butter Chicken at home | Chicken Makhani | Chef Sanjyot Keer” by Your Food Lab. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Your Food Lab. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 8 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: 1000 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$9.45*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$11.55* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
46

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain tree nuts, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$28.35*for the batch in the video
~$9.45*per serving

You save about ~$11.55* per serving (55% less*) than ordering it out — ~$34.65* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

16 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 20 predicted from typical costs · not priced: kashmiri red chilli powder, dhaniya powder, jeera powder, kasuri methi, amchur powder, fresh mint…

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 16 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving545 kcal · 27% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat29 g38%
Saturated fat11 g53%
Sodium495 mg22%
Carbohydrate34 g12%
Fiber6 g21%
Total sugars14 gno daily value
Added sugars0.7 g1%
Protein39 g79%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+16 of 20
  • Saturated fat−19 of 20
  • Sodium−8 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 27 of 42 ingredient lines (92% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: 1000 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, live charcoal, ghee, coriander stem & roots, fresh coriander. Not matched to nutrient data: dhaniya powder, jeera powder, kasuri methi, amchur powder, fresh mint, thick curd and 3 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • blender
  • grill pan
  • strainer
  • pot
  • whisk

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Your Food Lab’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.