Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Asian-inspired · Brian Lagerstrom

Chicken teriyaki

From the video “Very Good Chicken Teriyaki Recipe (Chef Tested)” by Brian Lagerstrom. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Brian Lagerstrom. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 8 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: 255 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 2 agrees
Cost
~$1.98*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$15.02* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
9

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$5.94*for the batch in the video
~$1.98*per serving

You save about ~$15.02* per serving (88% less*) than ordering it out — ~$45.06* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario chicken teriyaki plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: sake

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario chicken teriyaki plate at ~$17, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving496 kcal · 25% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat21 g27%
Saturated fat5.8 g29%
Sodium2,042 mg89%
Carbohydrate40 g15%
Fiber0.3 g1%
Total sugars36 gno daily value
Added sugars35 g71%
Protein24 g48%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+1 of 20
  • Saturated fat−12 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−20 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 5 of 6 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: 255 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 2 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, cooking oil, medium grain rice, sesame seeds. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • wire rack
  • baking sheet
  • paring knife
  • cutting board
  • non-stick pan
  • heavy saucepan
  • spatula
  • pastry brush
  • chef's knife

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact number of servings (estimated 2)
  • Total preparation and cooking time
  • Exact amount of oil used for searing
  • Exact amount of salt used

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-02. Thumbnail and video are Brian Lagerstrom’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.