Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Dimitra's Dishes

Gyro

From the video “The Ultimate Greek American Gyros” by Dimitra's Dishes. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Dimitra's Dishes. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~85 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (50 min: 0 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 11 min prep for 15 ingredients) and model check (120 min)
Serves
~8
est., not stated in the video: 1361 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 8 agrees
Cost
~$8.10*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$9.90* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
15

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$24.30*for the batch in the video
~$8.10*per serving

You save about ~$9.90* per serving (55% less*) than ordering it out — ~$29.70* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

2 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 6 predicted from typical costs · not priced: rosemary

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 2 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (7 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving488 kcal · 24% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat20 g25%
Saturated fat7.1 g36%
Sodium385 mg17%
Carbohydrate36 g13%
Fiber2.7 g10%
Total sugars3.9 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein40 g79%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+8 of 20
  • Saturated fat−14 of 20
  • Sodium−7 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 10 of 12 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 8 servings (estimated: 1361 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 8 agrees). Typical amounts assumed for garlic, ground cumin, crushed red pepper flakes, pita bread, red onion, tomato and 1 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, black pepper, tzatziki sauce, bell pepper. Not matched to nutrient data: rosemary. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • food processor
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • 8-inch square baking dish
  • plastic wrap
  • cast iron skillet
  • tongs
  • spatula

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact amount of garlic
  • Exact amount of salt
  • Exact amount of black pepper
  • Exact amount of crushed red pepper flakes
  • Exact yield and servings
  • Total preparation and cooking time in minutes

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Dimitra's Dishes’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.