Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Mediterranean · Dimitra's Dishes

Mediterranean stuffed eggplant

From the video “Greek-Style Stuffed Eggplant: Melitzanes Paputsakia (Updated)” by Dimitra's Dishes. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Dimitra's Dishes. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~145 min
est., not stated in the video: 80 min stated in steps + 45 min for 15 steps without a time + 18 min prep for 24 ingredients; model check 95 min agrees
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 780 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$6.84*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$12.16* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
24

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$20.52*for the batch in the video
~$6.84*per serving

You save about ~$12.16* per serving (64% less*) than ordering it out — ~$36.48* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Mediterranean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 6 predicted from typical costs · not priced: eggplant, crushed tomatoes, ground nutmeg

* Estimate, not a quote: 6 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Mediterranean restaurant plate at ~$19, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving581 kcal · 29% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat40 g51%
Saturated fat10 g52%
Sodium325 mg14%
Carbohydrate21 g8%
Fiber2.7 g10%
Total sugars11 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein36 g71%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+7 of 20
  • Saturated fat−18 of 20
  • Sodium−5 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 11 of 14 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 780 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: olive oil, salt, black pepper, red pepper flakes, parsley, parmesan cheese. Not matched to nutrient data: eggplant. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • baking pan
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • pan
  • saucepan
  • whisk
  • oven

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin
  • exact pan size
  • exact cooking temperature for onions

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Dimitra's Dishes’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.