Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Mediterranean · Dimitra's Dishes

Spanakopita

From the video “The Best Greek Spanakopita (Updated Video)” by Dimitra's Dishes. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Dimitra's Dishes. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~15 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 13 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~7
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 150 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (12)
Cost
~$10.34*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$8.66* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
12

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$31.02*for the batch in the video
~$10.34*per serving

You save about ~$8.66* per serving (46% less*) than ordering it out — ~$25.98* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Mediterranean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: ricotta cheese, dried dill, phyllo dough

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Mediterranean restaurant plate at ~$19, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving689 kcal · 34% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat63 g81%
Saturated fat35 g177%
Sodium1,412 mg61%
Carbohydrate17 g6%
Fiber2.4 g9%
Total sugars1.5 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein16 g33%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+13 of 20
  • Fiber+5 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−18 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 9 of 12 ingredient lines (77% of the measured weight), divided into 7 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 150 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (12)). Not matched to nutrient data: ricotta cheese, dried dill, phyllo dough. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • stand mixer
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • bowl
  • strainer
  • spatula
  • half-sheet baking pan
  • saucepan
  • pastry brush

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact baking yield servings not stated.
  • Total preparation time not explicitly stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Dimitra's Dishes’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.