Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Italian · Food Network

Shrimp fra diavolo

From the video “Ina Garten's Shrimp & Linguine Fra Diavolo | Barefoot Contessa | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~55 min
est., not stated in the video: 0 min stated in steps + 42 min for 14 steps without a time + 11 min prep for 14 ingredients; model check 35 min agrees
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 5 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$6.80*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$20.20* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
14

Ingredients

  • Pescatarian

May contain gluten, dairy, shellfish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$13.59*for the batch in the video
~$6.80*per serving

You save about ~$20.20* per serving (75% less*) than ordering it out — ~$40.41* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario seafood entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: white wine, arrabbiata sauce

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario seafood entrée at ~$27, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (7 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 56% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving603 kcal · 30% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat17 g22%
Saturated fat6.6 g33%
Sodium233 mg10%
Carbohydrate77 g28%
Fiber3.8 g14%
Total sugars3.8 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein35 g70%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+9 of 20
  • Saturated fat−11 of 20
  • Sodium−3 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 10 of 12 ingredient lines (88% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 5 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 4 agrees). Typical amounts assumed for red onion, butter, oil, red pepper flakes, shrimp, butter and 1 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, pepper. Not matched to nutrient data: white wine, Arrabbiata sauce. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • pot
  • skillet
  • tongs
  • wooden spoon
  • measuring cup

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin
  • exact amounts for onions, butter, oil, salt, pepper, and parsley

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.