Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Just One Cookbook

Ohitashi

From the video “How to Make Spinach Ohitashi (Japanese Spinach Salad) (Recipe) ほうれん草のお浸しの作り方 (レシピ)” by Just One Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Just One Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~280 min
est., not stated in the video: 241 min stated in steps + 36 min for 12 steps without a time + 5 min prep for 7 ingredients; model check 260 min agrees
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$1.80*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$16.20* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
8

Ingredients

  • Pescatarian

May contain gluten, soy, fish, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$3.60*for the batch in the video
~$1.80*per serving

You save about ~$16.20* per serving (90% less*) than ordering it out — ~$32.40* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

2 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 4 predicted from typical costs · not priced: kombu, spinach

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 2 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Not estimated: only 50% of ingredient lines (88% of mass) could be matched to USDA data (minimum 60%).

Equipment

  • pot
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • bowl
  • glass container

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact water amount for boiling spinach
  • Exact amount of white sesame seeds and katsuobushi

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Just One Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.