Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Just One Cookbook

Omurice

From the video “The Perfect Japanese Omurice Tutorial!” by Just One Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Just One Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~40 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (55 min: 0 min stated in steps + 48 min for 16 steps without a time + 9 min prep for 12 ingredients) and model check (25 min)
Serves
3
Cost
~$1.64*
per serving, Ontariosave ~$16.36* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
12

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain dairy, egg, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$4.92*for 3 people
~$1.64*per serving

You save about ~$16.36* per serving (91% less*) than ordering it out — ~$49.08* for 3 people.

Order out = a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: worcestershire sauce, cooked rice

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving182 kcal · 9% of 2,000Recipe makes 3 servings
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat12 g16%
Saturated fat6.1 g31%
Sodium554 mg24%
Carbohydrate8.8 g3%
Fiber0.2 g1%
Total sugars6.5 gno daily value
Added sugars6 g12%
Protein10 g21%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+2 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−13 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 8 of 9 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings as stated in the video. Not counted because the video gives no amount: onion, salt, freshly ground black pepper. Not matched to nutrient data: cooked rice. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • large pan
  • spatula
  • small bowl
  • chopsticks
  • strainer
  • non-stick frying pan
  • damp towel
  • paper towel
  • plate

What the video didn’t say

  • totalMin is not stated in the video.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Just One Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.