Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Just One Cookbook

Tonjiru

From the video “How to Make Tonjiru (Recipe) 豚汁の作り方 (レシピ)” by Just One Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Just One Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: 936 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$59.08*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
17

Ingredients

May contain gluten, soy, fish, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$118.16*for the batch in the video
~$59.08*per serving

11 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: sliced pork belly, gobo burdock root, taro satoimo, daikon radish, konnyaku konjac

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving488 kcal · 24% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat39 g50%
Saturated fat11 g57%
Sodium413 mg18%
Carbohydrate9.8 g4%
Fiber4.3 g15%
Total sugars3.2 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein29 g59%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+13 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−7 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 11 of 16 ingredient lines (84% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: 936 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt. Not matched to nutrient data: gobo burdock root, taro satoimo, konnyaku konjac, miso. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • pot
  • strainer
  • grater
  • ladle

What the video didn’t say

  • exact simmering time is described as about 10-15 minutes
  • servings not explicitly stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Just One Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.