Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Just One Cookbook

Yaki udon

From the video “How to Make Yaki Udon (Japanese Stir-Fried Udon Noodles) (Recipe) 焼きうどんの作り方 (レシピ)” by Just One Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Just One Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~45 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (60 min: 3 min stated in steps + 48 min for 16 steps without a time + 11 min prep for 15 ingredients) and model check (25 min)
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 170 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (2)
Cost
~$11.81*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$5.19* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
15

Ingredients

May contain gluten, soy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$23.61*for the batch in the video
~$11.81*per serving

You save about ~$5.19* per serving (31% less*) than ordering it out — ~$10.39* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario noodle bowl, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

9 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: pork belly, udon noodles, sake

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario noodle bowl at ~$17, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving1,147 kcal · 57% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat55 g70%
Saturated fat18 g89%
Sodium1,527 mg66%
Carbohydrate146 g53%
Fiber60 g214%
Total sugars79 gno daily value
Added sugars1.1 g2%
Protein40 g80%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+19 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−15 of 20
  • Sodium−12 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 12 of 14 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 170 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (2)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: black pepper. Not matched to nutrient data: udon noodles, dried bonito flakes. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • vegetable peeler
  • pot
  • bamboo colander
  • pan
  • tongs
  • lid

What the video didn’t say

  • servings not explicitly stated in video
  • total preparation and cooking time not stated in video

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Just One Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.