Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · J. Kenji López-Alt

Smash burgers

From the video “First Person Cooking: Ultra-Smashed Burgers” by J. Kenji López-Alt. RecipesMD is not affiliated with J. Kenji López-Alt. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
~20 min
est., not stated in the video: 0 min stated in steps + 15 min for 5 steps without a time + 5 min prep for 6 ingredients; model check 15 min agrees
Serves
~1
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$2.28*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$13.72* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
6

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$4.56*for the batch in the video
~$2.28*per serving

You save about ~$13.72* per serving (86% less*) than ordering it out — ~$27.44* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario burger, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

1 ingredient priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: cheese slice

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 1 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario burger at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (3 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 67% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving486 kcal · 24% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat24 g30%
Saturated fat10 g51%
Sodium707 mg31%
Carbohydrate27 g10%
Fiber0.9 g3%
Total sugars4.3 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein39 g78%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+3 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−13 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 3 of 3 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 1 serving (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for ground beef, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, pepper, sauce. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • griddle
  • spatula
  • plate
  • cutting board

What the video didn’t say

  • servings unknown
  • total time unknown
  • exact ingredient amounts unknown
  • type of cheese unknown
  • type of sauce unknown

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-01. Thumbnail and video are J. Kenji López-Alt’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.