Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · NYT Cooking

Beef bourguignon

From the video “How to Make Beef Bourguignon | Step-by-Step With Melissa Clark | NYT Cooking” by NYT Cooking. RecipesMD is not affiliated with NYT Cooking. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 11 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$13.79*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$7.21* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
19

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$41.37*for the batch in the video
~$13.79*per serving

You save about ~$7.21* per serving (34% less*) than ordering it out — ~$21.63* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

8 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 4 predicted from typical costs · not priced: lardons, red wine

* Estimate, not a quote: 4 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (12 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 100% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving709 kcal · 35% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat57 g74%
Saturated fat22 g108%
Sodium124 mg5%
Carbohydrate16 g6%
Fiber2.9 g10%
Total sugars5.5 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein32 g64%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−1 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 12 of 14 ingredient lines (72% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for beef chuck, lardons, onions, carrots, tomato paste, garlic and 5 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, ground black pepper, granulated sugar, butter, parsley. Not matched to nutrient data: red wine. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • Dutch oven
  • Slotted spoon
  • Wire rack
  • Skillet
  • Tongs

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact weight of beef chuck
  • Exact quantities of lardons, onions, carrots, garlic, tomato paste, flour, pearl onions, mushrooms, and parsley
  • Exact amount of salt and pepper used for seasoning
  • Servings yield
  • Total cooking time (ranges from 1.5 to 2.5 hours)

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are NYT Cooking’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.