Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · NYT Cooking

Fish sandwich

From the video “The Best Homemade Fried Fish Fillet Sandwich | Sue Li | NYT Cooking” by NYT Cooking. RecipesMD is not affiliated with NYT Cooking. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~50 min
est., not stated in the video: 1 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 11 min prep for 15 ingredients; model check 30 min agrees
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 100 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$2.22*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$13.78* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
15

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy, egg, soy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$4.44*for the batch in the video
~$2.22*per serving

You save about ~$13.78* per serving (86% less*) than ordering it out — ~$27.56* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario sandwich or burger, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

1 ingredient priced from Ontario averages · 12 predicted from typical costs

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 1 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario sandwich or burger at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (13 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving708 kcal · 35% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat78 g100%
Saturated fat6.5 g33%
Sodium47 mg2%
Carbohydrate0.2 g0%
Fiber0 g0%
Total sugars0.1 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein4.2 g8%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+3 of 20
  • Fiber0 of 20
  • Saturated fat−9 of 20
  • Sodium−1 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 2 of 2 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 100 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: mayonnaise, capers, shallots, bread and butter pickles, pickle juice, dill and 7 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • bowl
  • spatula
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • skillet
  • wire rack
  • sheet pan

What the video didn’t say

  • servings not stated
  • totalMin not stated
  • exact measurements for tartar sauce and breading ingredients not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are NYT Cooking’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.