Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · NYT Cooking

Karaage

From the video “Creating the Perfect Crispy Karaage Recipe | Eric Kim | NYT Cooking” by NYT Cooking. RecipesMD is not affiliated with NYT Cooking. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~5 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 3 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 130 g flour at ~25 g flour per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$3.44*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$14.56* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
12

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, egg, soy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$6.88*for the batch in the video
~$3.44*per serving

You save about ~$14.56* per serving (81% less*) than ordering it out — ~$29.12* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 4 predicted from typical costs · not priced: sake

* Estimate, not a quote: 4 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving131 kcal · 7% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat1 g1%
Saturated fat0.3 g2%
Sodium369 mg16%
Carbohydrate26 g9%
Fiber0.4 g1%
Total sugars0.6 gno daily value
Added sugars0.4 g1%
Protein2 g4%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+8 of 20
  • Fiber+4 of 20
  • Saturated fat−2 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 6 of 7 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 130 g flour at ~25 g flour per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: fine sea salt or coarse kosher salt, canola or vegetable oil, lemon wedges, mayonnaise, shichimi togarashi. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • saucepan
  • wire rack
  • spider
  • thermometer
  • microplane
  • mixing bowls

What the video didn’t say

  • servings count not explicitly stated
  • total preparation time not explicitly stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are NYT Cooking’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.