Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

South Asian · NYT Cooking

Vegetable biryani

From the video “Easy One-Pot Vegetable Biryani | Zainab Shah | NYT Cooking” by NYT Cooking. RecipesMD is not affiliated with NYT Cooking. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~5 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 6 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$5.81*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$12.19* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
24

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain tree nuts, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$17.43*for the batch in the video
~$5.81*per serving

You save about ~$12.19* per serving (68% less*) than ordering it out — ~$36.57* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario curry with rice, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

16 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 7 predicted from typical costs · not priced: ghee, star anise, cardamom pods, green chile, mint, cashews…

* Estimate, not a quote: 7 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario curry with rice at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (23 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 94% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving481 kcal · 24% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat5.4 g7%
Saturated fat1.3 g7%
Sodium482 mg21%
Carbohydrate96 g35%
Fiber9.2 g33%
Total sugars12 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein15 g29%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+16 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−3 of 20
  • Sodium−9 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 19 of 22 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for red onion, cauliflower, carrot, potato, long grain basmati rice, star anise and 12 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: ghee, green chile, mint, salt, pomegranate seeds. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • Dutch oven
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • bowl
  • fork

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact ingredient quantities and spice amounts were not specified.
  • Exact water and vegetable stock volumes were not specified.
  • Servings and total cooking time were not explicitly stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are NYT Cooking’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.