Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · NYT Cooking

Vegetarian chili

From the video “30-Minute Vegetarian Chili | Melissa Clark | NYT Cooking” by NYT Cooking. RecipesMD is not affiliated with NYT Cooking. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyGreat weeknight pick
Mild
Total time
~45 min
est., not stated in the video: 0 min stated in steps + 33 min for 11 steps without a time + 12 min prep for 16 ingredients; model check 35 min agrees
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$2.50*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$15.50* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
16

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$7.51*for the batch in the video
~$2.50*per serving

You save about ~$15.50* per serving (86% less*) than ordering it out — ~$46.49* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

3 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 9 predicted from typical costs · not priced: red kidney beans, black beans, diced tomatoes

* Estimate, not a quote: 9 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (6 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving120 kcal · 6% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat6.9 g9%
Saturated fat2.1 g11%
Sodium42 mg2%
Carbohydrate15 g5%
Fiber3 g11%
Total sugars5.9 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein2.1 g4%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+9 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−17 of 20
  • Sodium−3 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 10 of 14 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for olive oil, oregano, lime juice, sour cream, cilantro, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, sugar, chile powder, pickling liquid. Not matched to nutrient data: red kidney beans, black beans. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • bowl
  • can opener
  • strainer
  • skillet
  • wooden spoon

What the video didn’t say

  • exact ingredient amounts for oil, spices, salt, sugar, and garnishes
  • cooking times and heat levels for simmering
  • serving size and total duration not specified

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are NYT Cooking’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.