Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Omnivore's Cookbook

Moo goo gai pan

From the video “Moo Goo Gai Pan (蘑菇鸡片)” by Omnivore's Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Omnivore's Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~50 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (65 min: 0 min stated in steps + 48 min for 16 steps without a time + 15 min prep for 20 ingredients) and model check (30 min)
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (2: 285 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$4.78*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$11.22* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
22

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain peanuts, gluten, shellfish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$14.33*for the batch in the video
~$4.78*per serving

You save about ~$11.22* per serving (70% less*) than ordering it out — ~$33.67* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Chinese takeout plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

12 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 6 predicted from typical costs · not priced: shaoxing wine, bamboo shoots, peanut oil, bamboo

* Estimate, not a quote: 6 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Chinese takeout plate at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving332 kcal · 17% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat12 g16%
Saturated fat2.1 g11%
Sodium350 mg15%
Carbohydrate28 g10%
Fiber7.6 g27%
Total sugars10 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein28 g56%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−6 of 20
  • Sodium−9 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 17 of 19 ingredient lines (73% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (2: 285 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: green onions. Not matched to nutrient data: bamboo shoots, bamboo. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • glass mixing bowls
  • tongs
  • whisk
  • large skillet
  • spatula

What the video didn’t say

  • Servings not stated
  • Total preparation and cooking time not stated
  • Heat levels and cooking durations not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Omnivore's Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.