Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Omnivore's Cookbook

Pork and chive dumplings

From the video “Pork And Chive Dumplings (猪肉韭菜水饺) Recipe” by Omnivore's Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Omnivore's Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~45 min
est., not stated in the video: 3 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 5 min prep for 7 ingredients; model check 45 min agrees
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$2.38*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$18.62* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
8

Ingredients

May contain gluten, soy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$7.13*for the batch in the video
~$2.38*per serving

You save about ~$18.62* per serving (89% less*) than ordering it out — ~$55.87* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: garlic chives, ground white pepper, dumpling wrappers

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (2 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving420 kcal · 21% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat32 g42%
Saturated fat12 g60%
Sodium770 mg33%
Carbohydrate3.3 g1%
Fiber1.2 g4%
Total sugars1.6 gno daily value
Added sugars0.7 g1%
Protein28 g56%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+4 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−16 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 6 of 7 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: dumpling wrappers. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • mixing bowl
  • grater
  • chopsticks
  • pot
  • skimmer ladle
  • plate
  • small bowl

What the video didn’t say

  • Servings not specified
  • Total cooking and preparation time not specified
  • Exact amount of ginger and water not explicitly listed

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Omnivore's Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.