Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Omnivore's Cookbook

Pan-fried buns

From the video “Sheng Jian Bao (recipe) 生煎包 Pan Fried Pork Bun” by Omnivore's Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Omnivore's Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~60 min
est., not stated in the video: 0 min stated in steps + 48 min for 16 steps without a time + 13 min prep for 17 ingredients; model check 95 min agrees
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 227 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$2.06*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$13.94* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
20

Ingredients

May contain gluten, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$6.19*for the batch in the video
~$2.06*per serving

You save about ~$13.94* per serving (87% less*) than ordering it out — ~$41.81* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Chinese takeout plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

10 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: instant yeast, shaoxing wine, ground white pepper

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Chinese takeout plate at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving754 kcal · 38% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat36 g46%
Saturated fat7.8 g39%
Sodium632 mg27%
Carbohydrate84 g30%
Fiber3.1 g11%
Total sugars2.8 gno daily value
Added sugars2 g4%
Protein22 g44%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+16 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−10 of 20
  • Sodium−7 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 15 of 16 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 227 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: ginger water. Not matched to nutrient data: instant yeast. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • bowl
  • chopsticks
  • rolling pin
  • pan
  • lid

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Omnivore's Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.