Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Preppy Kitchen

Corn chowder

From the video “Easy Corn Chowder Recipe” by Preppy Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Preppy Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
~75 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (95 min: 29 min stated in steps + 54 min for 18 steps without a time + 10 min prep for 13 ingredients) and model check (50 min)
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 820 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$2.47*
per serving, Ontario (~4 portions assumed)save ~$8.53* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
13

Ingredients

May contain dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$9.87*for the batch in the video
~$2.47*per serving

You save about ~$8.53* per serving (78% less*) than ordering it out — ~$34.13* for ~4 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bowl of soup, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

9 ingredients priced from Ontario averages

* Estimate, not a quote: every counted line priced from Ontario averages; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 4 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bowl of soup at ~$11, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving340 kcal · 17% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat13 g17%
Saturated fat5.6 g28%
Sodium1,205 mg52%
Carbohydrate46 g17%
Fiber5.1 g18%
Total sugars11 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein14 g28%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−16 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 13 of 13 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 820 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • Dutch oven
  • cutting board
  • chef's knife
  • wooden spoon
  • spider strainer
  • blender

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact cooking temperatures beyond medium-high and medium-low
  • Exact simmering duration range

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Preppy Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.