Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Preppy Kitchen

Crab cakes

From the video “Easy Crab Cakes Recipe” by Preppy Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Preppy Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$3.91*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$14.09* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
17

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, egg, shellfish, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$11.73*for the batch in the video
~$3.91*per serving

You save about ~$14.09* per serving (78% less*) than ordering it out — ~$42.27* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

9 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: fresh mixed herbs (chives and tarragon), worcestershire sauce, lemon zest, lump crab meat, tartar sauce

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Not estimated: only 93% of ingredient lines (41% of mass) could be matched to USDA data (minimum 60%).

Equipment

  • chef's knife
  • cutting board
  • microplane grater
  • large mixing bowl
  • whisk
  • spatula
  • portion scoop
  • baking sheet
  • cast iron skillet

What the video didn’t say

  • Total preparation time and exact serving yield are not explicitly stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.7-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Preppy Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.