Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Preppy Kitchen

Philly cheesesteak

From the video “Easy Philly Cheesesteak Recipe” by Preppy Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Preppy Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
~55 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (70 min: 22 min stated in steps + 42 min for 14 steps without a time + 8 min prep for 10 ingredients) and model check (35 min)
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$5.35*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$12.65* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
10

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$16.06*for the batch in the video
~$5.35*per serving

You save about ~$12.65* per serving (70% less*) than ordering it out — ~$37.94* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: hoagie rolls, provolone cheese

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving463 kcal · 23% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat33 g43%
Saturated fat8.8 g44%
Sodium858 mg37%
Carbohydrate8.1 g3%
Fiber2.1 g8%
Total sugars3.7 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein32 g64%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+7 of 20
  • Saturated fat−19 of 20
  • Sodium−16 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 8 of 10 ingredient lines (67% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not matched to nutrient data: hoagie rolls, provolone cheese. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • chef's knife
  • large skillet
  • wooden spoon
  • large bowl
  • tongs
  • baking sheet
  • aluminum foil

What the video didn’t say

  • Servings not explicitly stated, although four hoagie rolls are prepared.
  • Total preparation and cooking time not explicitly stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Preppy Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.