Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · Preppy Kitchen

Soda bread

From the video “Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe” by Preppy Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Preppy Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~80 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (105 min: 30 min stated in steps + 69 min for 23 steps without a time + 6 min prep for 8 ingredients) and model check (50 min)
Serves
~15
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (21: 516 g flour at ~25 g flour per serving) and model check (8)
Cost
~$0.75*
per serving, Ontario (~10 portions assumed)save ~$3.25* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
8

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$7.52*for the batch in the video
~$0.75*per serving

You save about ~$3.25* per serving (81% less*) than ordering it out — ~$32.48* for ~10 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario café baked good, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: baking soda, buttermilk, raisins

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 10 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario café baked good at ~$4, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving213 kcal · 11% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat4.1 g5%
Saturated fat2.3 g12%
Sodium354 mg15%
Carbohydrate39 g14%
Fiber1.4 g5%
Total sugars12 gno daily value
Added sugars3.4 g7%
Protein5.2 g10%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+13 of 20
  • Fiber+9 of 20
  • Saturated fat−11 of 20
  • Sodium−14 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−6 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 8 of 8 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 15 servings (estimated: average of rules (21: 516 g flour at ~25 g flour per serving) and model check (8)). Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • scale
  • large bowl
  • measuring cup
  • whisk
  • spatula
  • knife
  • cast-iron skillet

What the video didn’t say

  • exact baking time beyond 25 to 30 minutes
  • servings count not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Preppy Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.