Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Seonkyoung Longest

Japchae

From the video “The BEST Japchae!” by Seonkyoung Longest. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Seonkyoung Longest. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~20 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 17 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (3: 200 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; 5 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each)) and model check (6)
Cost
~$6.93*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$13.07* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
20

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, egg, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$20.80*for the batch in the video
~$6.93*per serving

You save about ~$13.07* per serving (65% less*) than ordering it out — ~$39.20* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

13 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: beef, agave nectar, sesame seeds

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving320 kcal · 16% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat13 g17%
Saturated fat2.5 g13%
Sodium1,286 mg56%
Carbohydrate41 g15%
Fiber5.8 g21%
Total sugars20 gno daily value
Added sugars3.2 g6%
Protein12 g23%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+19 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−8 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−4 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 17 of 18 ingredient lines (87% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: average of rules (3: 200 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; 5 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each)) and model check (6)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: black pepper, salt. Not matched to nutrient data: beef. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • bowl
  • large pot
  • colander
  • ice water bowl
  • pan
  • measuring cups
  • measuring spoons
  • tongs
  • wooden spoon

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact cooking duration for the noodles beyond 10 minutes check
  • Exact quantities for salt and black pepper

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Seonkyoung Longest’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.