Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Binging with Babish

Baked mac and cheese

From the video “Mac & Cheese | Basics with Babish” by Binging with Babish. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Binging with Babish. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
~75 min
est., not stated in the video: 55 min stated in steps + 12 min for 4 steps without a time + 9 min prep for 12 ingredients; model check 90 min agrees
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 5 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 8 agrees
Cost
~$3.35*
per serving, Ontario (~4 portions assumed)save ~$11.65* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
12

Babish published recipe · source checked 2026-10-02. Five video methods separated; measurements checked against the corresponding published method. The page-wide six-serving label is not assigned to every method. Added steps without verified video times have no timestamp. Not kitchen-tested.

Health Canada cooking temperatures · source checked 2026-10-02. RecipesMD adds a 165°F / 74°C center-temperature check for the Southern-style egg dish; this is safety guidance, not a claim about the video.

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$13.38*for the batch in the video
~$3.35*per serving

You save about ~$11.65* per serving (78% less*) than ordering it out — ~$46.62* for ~4 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario mac and cheese, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: cheese blend for sauce (parmesan, gruyere, cheddar, fontina or mozzarella), dry pasta

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 4 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario mac and cheese at ~$15, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.
  • creator recipe: Written in the creator's published recipe linked above; not inferred from the video.

creator recipe written in the linked creator recipe · stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving1,352 kcal · 68% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat71 g91%
Saturated fat41 g204%
Sodium3,231 mg140%
Carbohydrate104 g38%
Fiber3.3 g12%
Total sugars13 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein73 g146%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+4 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 9 of 9 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 5 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 8 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: kosher salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper (optional). Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • saucepan
  • whisk
  • strainer
  • baking dish
  • oven

What the video didn’t say

  • Yield and total time are not stated separately for this method; 45 minutes is baking time only.
  • The sauce-cheese blend is 1 1/2 lb total; its individual cheese proportions are not specified.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-02. Thumbnail and video are Binging with Babish’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.