Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Just One Cookbook

Pork shogayaki

From the video “How to Make Ginger Pork (Shogayaki) (Recipe) 生姜焼きの作り方 (レシピ)” by Just One Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Just One Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~40 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (55 min: 7 min stated in steps + 42 min for 14 steps without a time + 7 min prep for 9 ingredients) and model check (25 min)
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$2.70*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$18.30* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
9

Ingredients

May contain gluten, soy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$8.11*for the batch in the video
~$2.70*per serving

You save about ~$18.30* per serving (87% less*) than ordering it out — ~$54.89* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: sake, pork slices

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Not estimated: no amount for the main ingredient (pork slices).

Equipment

  • glass bowls
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • grater
  • measuring cup
  • skillet
  • tongs
  • chopsticks

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact heat levels for cooking
  • Exact total vegetable oil amount

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Just One Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.