Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Just One Cookbook

Tamago sando

From the video “How to Make Japanese Egg Sandwich (Tamago Sando) (Recipe) たまごサンドの作り方 (レシピ)” by Just One Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Just One Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~45 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (55 min: 17 min stated in steps + 33 min for 11 steps without a time + 6 min prep for 8 ingredients) and model check (30 min)
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 150 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (2)
Cost
~$1.24*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$16.76* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
8

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$2.48*for the batch in the video
~$1.24*per serving

You save about ~$16.76* per serving (93% less*) than ordering it out — ~$33.52* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 1 predicted from typical costs · not priced: shokupan

* Estimate, not a quote: 1 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving250 kcal · 13% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat23 g29%
Saturated fat6.7 g34%
Sodium527 mg23%
Carbohydrate1.4 g1%
Fiber0 g0%
Total sugars1.2 gno daily value
Added sugars0.5 g1%
Protein9.8 g20%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber0 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−18 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 6 of 7 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 150 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (2)). Typical amounts assumed for salted butter, Japanese mayonnaise, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: black pepper. Not matched to nutrient data: shokupan. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • pot
  • bowl
  • fork
  • knife
  • plates

What the video didn’t say

  • servings not stated
  • total preparation time not stated
  • exact quantity of Japanese mayonnaise not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Just One Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.