Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Budae jjigae

From the video “Army base stew (Budae-jjigae: 부대찌개)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 9 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$7.43*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$12.57* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
25

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy, shellfish, soy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$22.30*for the batch in the video
~$7.43*per serving

You save about ~$12.57* per serving (63% less*) than ordering it out — ~$37.70* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

10 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 11 predicted from typical costs · not priced: large dried anchovies, dried kelp (dashima), hot pepper flakes (gochugaru), pork belly, cabbage, spam…

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 10 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (3 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving735 kcal · 37% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat58 g74%
Saturated fat21 g102%
Sodium1,604 mg70%
Carbohydrate33 g12%
Fiber3 g11%
Total sugars7.5 gno daily value
Added sugars4 g8%
Protein22 g44%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+16 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−19 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−2 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 15 of 23 ingredient lines (66% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not matched to nutrient data: large dried anchovies, dried kelp (dashima), hot pepper flakes (gochugaru), Spam, rice cake slices, baked beans and 2 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • pot
  • strainer
  • shallow pot
  • portable gas stove
  • tongs
  • knife
  • cutting board

What the video didn’t say

  • Servings count not specified
  • Total preparation and cooking time not explicitly stated
  • Exact amount of water used for boiling the stock

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.