Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Dakgalbi

From the video “Spicy chicken and vegetables (Dakgalbi: 닭갈비)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Hot
Total time
~15 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 12 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$4.66*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$15.34* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
21

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy, shellfish, soy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$13.99*for the batch in the video
~$4.66*per serving

You save about ~$15.34* per serving (77% less*) than ordering it out — ~$46.01* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

11 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: rice cake, korean hot pepper flakes, rice syrup, perilla leaves

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (4 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving304 kcal · 15% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat6.8 g9%
Saturated fat1.9 g10%
Sodium1,055 mg46%
Carbohydrate28 g10%
Fiber3.2 g11%
Total sugars16 gno daily value
Added sugars11 g23%
Protein34 g68%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+15 of 20
  • Saturated fat−6 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−15 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 11 of 18 ingredient lines (75% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: Sweet potato, Carrot, Green chili pepper, Perilla leaves, Kimchi, Cooked rice. Not matched to nutrient data: Rice cake, Korean hot pepper flakes. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • Cutting board
  • Knife
  • Kitchen scale
  • Paper towel
  • Mixing bowls
  • Spoon
  • Peeler
  • Skillet with lid
  • Tongs
  • Ladle

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact cooking time for the main skillet stage
  • Exact cooking time for the fried rice stage
  • Exact total yield and number of servings

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.