Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Gamjatang

From the video “Pork bones soup (Gamjatang: 감자탕)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Medium
Total time
~15 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 12 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$4.95*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$15.05* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
19

Ingredients

May contain gluten, soy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$14.85*for the batch in the video
~$4.95*per serving

You save about ~$15.05* per serving (75% less*) than ordering it out — ~$45.15* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

8 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 7 predicted from typical costs · not priced: pork spine bones, napa cabbage, doenjang, soybean sprouts, perilla leaves, perilla seeds powder…

* Estimate, not a quote: 7 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Not estimated: only 71% of ingredient lines (57% of mass) could be matched to USDA data (minimum 60%).

Equipment

  • large bowl
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • large pot
  • tongs
  • colander
  • peeler
  • serving bowl

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact cooking duration for the final simmering stage with vegetables is not specified.
  • Exact heat level for boiling and simmering is loosely described.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.