Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Kimbap

From the video “How to make gimbap (aka kimbap: 김밥)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 11 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
5
Cost
~$3.14*
per serving, Ontariosave ~$16.86* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
22

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, egg, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$15.69*for 5 people
~$3.14*per serving

You save about ~$16.86* per serving (84% less*) than ordering it out — ~$84.31* for 5 people.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 8 predicted from typical costs · not priced: carrot, seaweed paper kim

* Estimate, not a quote: 8 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving435 kcal · 22% of 2,000Recipe makes 5 servings
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat20 g25%
Saturated fat4.5 g23%
Sodium582 mg25%
Carbohydrate46 g17%
Fiber2.5 g9%
Total sugars6 gno daily value
Added sugars3.4 g7%
Protein18 g36%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+8 of 20
  • Saturated fat−10 of 20
  • Sodium−12 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−3 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 19 of 19 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings as stated in the video. Typical amounts assumed for sesame oil, danmuji pickled radish, spinach, sesame oil, cooking oil, cooking oil and 2 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, ground black pepper. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • large bowl
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • pot
  • pan
  • bamboo mat
  • chopsticks

What the video didn’t say

  • Total cooking time is not specified.
  • Exact heat levels for sautéing and cooking are mostly described qualitatively.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.