Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Kimchi jeon

From the video “Kimchi Pancake (Kimchijeon: 김치전)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$1.66*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$18.34* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
8

Ingredients

  • Pescatarian

May contain gluten, shellfish, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$4.97*for the batch in the video
~$1.66*per serving

You save about ~$18.34* per serving (92% less*) than ordering it out — ~$55.03* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 1 predicted from typical costs · not priced: swerve

* Estimate, not a quote: 1 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving262 kcal · 13% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat15 g19%
Saturated fat1.2 g6%
Sodium613 mg27%
Carbohydrate28 g10%
Fiber3 g11%
Total sugars1.8 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein4.7 g9%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+10 of 20
  • Fiber+16 of 20
  • Saturated fat−5 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 5 of 6 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: green onion. Not matched to nutrient data: swerve. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • bowl
  • measuring cup
  • measuring spoon
  • skillet
  • spatula
  • serving plate

What the video didn’t say

  • exact heat setting on the stove
  • exact cooking duration for each side

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.