Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Kimchi jjigae

From the video “Kimchi Stew (Kimchi-jjigae: 김치찌개)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 9 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
4
Cost
~$5.77*
per serving, Ontariosave ~$14.23* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
15

Ingredients

May contain shellfish, soy, fish, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$23.06*for 4 people
~$5.77*per serving

You save about ~$14.23* per serving (71% less*) than ordering it out — ~$56.94* for 4 people.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 6 predicted from typical costs · not priced: dried anchovies, korean radish, dried kelp, pork shoulder, hot pepper flakes, hot pepper paste

* Estimate, not a quote: 6 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving274 kcal · 14% of 2,000Recipe makes 4 servings
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat17 g22%
Saturated fat4.5 g23%
Sodium1,195 mg52%
Carbohydrate12 g4%
Fiber4.3 g15%
Total sugars5.7 gno daily value
Added sugars2.1 g4%
Protein22 g43%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−16 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−3 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 8 of 13 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings as stated in the video. Not counted because the video gives no amount: Korean radish, dried kelp, kimchi brine, hot pepper flakes. Not matched to nutrient data: dried anchovies, hot pepper paste. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • pot
  • pan with lid
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • strainer
  • measuring cup

What the video didn’t say

  • Total cooking time not stated
  • Exact heat level for boiling stock not specified beyond medium flame

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.