Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Mandu

From the video “Making mandu (Korean dumplings: 만두)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: 997 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$6.40*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$13.60* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
19

Ingredients

May contain gluten, egg, soy, fish, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$19.20*for the batch in the video
~$6.40*per serving

You save about ~$13.60* per serving (68% less*) than ordering it out — ~$40.80* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 7 predicted from typical costs · not priced: ground pork, ground beef, asian chives, tofu, mandu skins

* Estimate, not a quote: 7 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving348 kcal · 17% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat23 g29%
Saturated fat7.4 g37%
Sodium530 mg23%
Carbohydrate4.2 g2%
Fiber1.6 g6%
Total sugars1.1 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein31 g63%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+7 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−13 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 10 of 16 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: 997 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: ground pepper, vegetable oil, shiitake mushrooms, sugar, flour, fish sauce and 1 more. Not matched to nutrient data: mandu skins. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • mixing bowl
  • cutting board
  • knife
  • colander
  • pot
  • frying pan

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact quantity of vegetable oil, mushrooms, flour, green onion, and fish sauce.
  • Cooking times and heat levels for frying and boiling.
  • Exact amount of water used for soup stock.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.