Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Samgyeopsal

From the video “Grilled Pork Belly (Samgyeopsal-gui: 삼겹살구이)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~5 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 5 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
4
Cost
~$4.03*
per serving, Ontariosave ~$15.97* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
19

Ingredients

May contain gluten, shellfish, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$16.11*for 4 people
~$4.03*per serving

You save about ~$15.97* per serving (80% less*) than ordering it out — ~$63.89* for 4 people.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

9 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 8 predicted from typical costs · not priced: sesame seeds, hot pepper flakes, soybean paste, hot pepper paste, king oyster mushroom, pre-cut pork belly…

* Estimate, not a quote: 8 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (6 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving1,872 kcal · 94% of 2,000Recipe makes 4 servings
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat189 g242%
Saturated fat67 g335%
Sodium989 mg43%
Carbohydrate6.6 g2%
Fiber0.7 g3%
Total sugars4.4 gno daily value
Added sugars4.2 g8%
Protein34 g68%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+10 of 20
  • Fiber+1 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−5 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 10 of 16 ingredient lines (93% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings as stated in the video. Not counted because the video gives no amount: green onion, king oyster mushroom, perilla leaves, lettuce leaves, onion, garlic. Not matched to nutrient data: hot pepper flakes, soybean paste, hot pepper paste. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • bowl
  • colander
  • grill pan
  • portable stove
  • kitchen shears
  • tongs
  • chopsticks

What the video didn’t say

  • Total cooking time and exact heat settings are not specified.
  • Exact quantity of mushrooms, lettuce, and perilla leaves is not specified.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.