Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Sigeumchi namul

From the video “Spinach side dish (Sigeumchi-namul: 시금치나물)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~35 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (55 min: 1 min stated in steps + 48 min for 16 steps without a time + 5 min prep for 7 ingredients) and model check (15 min)
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$1.59*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$18.41* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
7

Ingredients

  • Vegan

May contain gluten, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$4.77*for the batch in the video
~$1.59*per serving

You save about ~$18.41* per serving (92% less*) than ordering it out — ~$55.23* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving64 kcal · 3% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat3.9 g5%
Saturated fat0.6 g3%
Sodium311 mg14%
Carbohydrate5.7 g2%
Fiber2.8 g10%
Total sugars0.7 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein3.9 g8%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−9 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 5 of 5 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: sesame seeds, chili threads. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • pot
  • strainer
  • mixing bowl
  • wooden pestle

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin
  • exact water amount
  • boiling heat level

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.