Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Tteokbokki

From the video “Spicy rice cake (Tteokbokki: 떡볶이)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~50 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (60 min: 15 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 7 min prep for 9 ingredients) and model check (35 min)
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 100 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$2.60*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$17.40* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
10

Ingredients

  • Pescatarian

May contain egg, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$7.81*for the batch in the video
~$2.60*per serving

You save about ~$17.40* per serving (87% less*) than ordering it out — ~$52.19* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: dried anchovies, rice cake, hot pepper paste, hot pepper flakes

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Not estimated: only 44% of ingredient lines (28% of mass) could be matched to USDA data (minimum 60%).

Equipment

  • pan
  • portable gas stove
  • wooden spatula
  • skimmer spoon
  • knife
  • cutting board

What the video didn’t say

  • Serving size not stated
  • Total preparation and cooking time not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.