Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Yukgaejang

From the video “Spicy beef and vegetable soup (Yukgaejang: 육개장)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 11 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
4
Cost
~$4.11*
per serving, Ontariosave ~$15.89* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
16

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$16.42*for 4 people
~$4.11*per serving

You save about ~$15.89* per serving (79% less*) than ordering it out — ~$63.58* for 4 people.

Order out = a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: beef brisket, mung bean sprouts, gosari (fernbrake), hot pepper flakes

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Korean restaurant plate at ~$20, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving413 kcal · 21% of 2,000Recipe makes 4 servings
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat29 g37%
Saturated fat9.6 g48%
Sodium2,052 mg89%
Carbohydrate15 g5%
Fiber2.8 g10%
Total sugars5.9 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein25 g51%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+10 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 10 of 12 ingredient lines (83% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings as stated in the video. Not counted because the video gives no amount: dae-pa (large green onions), salt, cooked rice. Not matched to nutrient data: gosari (fernbrake), hot pepper flakes. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • pot
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • measuring cup
  • measuring spoon
  • bowl
  • colander
  • ladle
  • tongs
  • chopsticks

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact total preparation time is not explicitly stated.
  • Brand names of ingredients are not specified.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.