Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Made With Lau

Egg fried rice

From the video “🍚 Fried Rice: A Chinese Chef’s Masterclass! (蛋炒飯)” by Made With Lau. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Made With Lau. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
~15 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 12 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 200 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; 4.4 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$2.22*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$11.78* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
15

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, egg, soy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$4.43*for the batch in the video
~$2.22*per serving

You save about ~$11.78* per serving (84% less*) than ordering it out — ~$23.57* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario fried rice plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: chicken bouillon powder

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario fried rice plate at ~$14, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving594 kcal · 30% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat7.4 g9%
Saturated fat2.4 g12%
Sodium1,439 mg63%
Carbohydrate109 g40%
Fiber2.3 g8%
Total sugars2.1 gno daily value
Added sugars0.7 g1%
Protein19 g37%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+17 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−4 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 9 of 12 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 200 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; 4.4 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: green onion, frozen peas and corn, cooking oil. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • rice cooker
  • cutting board
  • cleaver
  • mixing bowls
  • measuring cup
  • microwave
  • wok
  • spatula
  • chopsticks

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-01. Thumbnail and video are Made With Lau’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.