Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Mexican · Preppy Kitchen

Fish tacos with cabbage slaw

From the video “Ultimate Fish Tacos Recipe | Fresh, Easy, and Delicious!” by Preppy Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Preppy Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 10 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$5.57*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$10.43* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
27

Ingredients

  • Pescatarian

May contain dairy, egg, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$16.70*for the batch in the video
~$5.57*per serving

You save about ~$10.43* per serving (65% less*) than ordering it out — ~$31.30* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Mexican plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

14 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: corn tortillas

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Mexican plate at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving544 kcal · 27% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat40 g51%
Saturated fat8.2 g41%
Sodium867 mg38%
Carbohydrate21 g8%
Fiber7.3 g26%
Total sugars10 gno daily value
Added sugars0.3 g1%
Protein31 g61%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+19 of 20
  • Saturated fat−15 of 20
  • Sodium−14 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 15 of 20 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: Garlic, Lime Zest, Red Onion, Tomatoes, Cilantro, Jalapeño and 5 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • glass bowl
  • whisk
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • kitchen scale
  • grater
  • skillet
  • spatula
  • pan lid

What the video didn’t say

  • exact yield in servings
  • total preparation and cooking time

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Preppy Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.