Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Korean · Maangchi

Galbi

From the video “Korean beef barbecue ("LA Galbi": 갈비)” by Maangchi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Maangchi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumWeekend project
Mild
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
6
Cost
~$4.17*
per serving, Ontariosave ~$23.83* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
21

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$25.00*for 6 people
~$4.17*per serving

You save about ~$23.83* per serving (85% less*) than ordering it out — ~$143.00* for 6 people.

Order out = a typical Ontario galbi plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 12 predicted from typical costs · not priced: beef short ribs, korean pear

* Estimate, not a quote: 12 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario galbi plate at ~$28, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (11 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving756 kcal · 38% of 2,000Recipe makes 6 servings
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat53 g68%
Saturated fat22 g109%
Sodium990 mg43%
Carbohydrate23 g8%
Fiber2.6 g9%
Total sugars16 gno daily value
Added sugars12 g23%
Protein49 g97%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+5 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−11 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−6 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 9 of 9 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings as stated in the video. Not counted because the video gives no amount: rice cake, mushroom, perilla leaves, cucumber, green onion, sesame seeds and 5 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • food processor
  • mixing bowl
  • cutting board
  • knife
  • container
  • portable grill
  • tongs
  • skewers

What the video didn’t say

  • Total preparation time not explicitly stated beyond 1-hour minimum marinating.
  • Exact quantities for garnish vegetables and side dishes not specified.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Maangchi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.